How to Configure Security for Destinations

Follow steps in this procedure to configure permissions to destinations for user or groups.

To begin configuring destination security, start by assigning the desired destination permissions for the All Destinations group. To view destinations in the tree, users or user groups must be assigned the Allow user to view the Destination permission in the All Destinations group. Users not assigned this permission in the All Destinations group will not see any destinations or groups even though they may have been given permissions for the specific destination or group.

Output Manager security for the Destinations application begins at the root of the Destinations tree, the All Destinations group. The Destinations tree consists of destinations and destination groups. A destination is an output from Output Manager. A destination group is a way to organize destinations. Output Manager security is provided for both by adding a Microsoft Windows user or user group to the destination or destination group and assigning permissions to that user or user group. These Output Manager permissions define the type of access users and user groups have to the destinations and destination groups. Once the Output Manager security (Microsoft Windows users, user groups, and destination permissions) is set in a destination group, the Output Manager security is inherited by all the objects in that destination group. When a new destination or destination group is created, its security is automatically the same as its parent destination group’s security (that is, the new destination inherits its security from its parent destination group).

  1. In the Output Manager Console, select the Destinations application in the navigation pane.
  2. In the Destinations tree, right-click a destination or destination group and click Security.
    To complete this step, a user must be a member of the local Administrators group or be assigned the Allow user to modify the Destination’s security configuration permission. Users with this permission can add and remove users or groups and modify assigned permissions.
    Completing this step opens the Security Configuration dialog box.
    Security Configuration dialog box
  3. Use the Inherit permissions from the parent option to inherit permissions from a parent group or to remove inheritance.
    • Click the browse button (...) to select a new parent group for inheritance or to remove inheritance.
    By default, destinations are configured to inherit permissions from the parent folder.
    Tip: It is a recommended practice to assign rights using inheritance, as it allows administrators to easily assign and manage permissions. Blocking inheritance is useful when a destination or destination group needs to be seen by just a few users. If you plan to block inheritance, make sure the users that need access to the blocked destination or group are in the security settings for all of its parent groups, including All Destinations. If this is not done then those users will not be able to see the destination. Also remember to remove the users and user groups that should not have access to the destination or group.
  4. In the Users and groups with permissions box, select a user or group to manage.
    The Assigned permissions list box displays permissions that are currently granted to the selected user or group.
  5. In the Assigned permissions box, select or clear check boxes to grant or revoke permissions for the selected user or group.
    • You can click Select All or Unselect All to quickly grant or revoke all permissions.
    The permissions assigned to a destination group will be inherited for all of the objects contained in that group, except for the ones that have inheritance blocked.

    If you notice permissions that are selected and disabled, then the user/group selected has inherited permissions. Inherited permissions cannot be removed. To remove inherited permissions, you must first block inheritance for the destination.

  6. When you are finished configuring security, click OK to save your changes.